Additional Book Information

Series: New York Review Books
ISBN: 9781681375243
Pages: 176
Publication Date: September 22, 2020

Suppose a Sentence

by Brian Dillon

$17.95

Paperback
Available as an e-book from these retailers
This title can be purchased from your favorite e-book retailer, including many independent booksellers.

Buy on Amazon Buy on iBooks Buy on Barnes & Noble

While our office is shut down due to COVID-19, we encourage you to purchase this title through bookshop.org in support of independent bookstores. Click here to order.

In Suppose a Sentence, Brian Dillon, whom John Banville has called "a literary flâneur in the tradition of Baudelaire and Walter Benjamin," has written a sequel of sorts to Essayism, his roaming love letter to literature. In this new book Dillon turns his attention to the oblique and complex pleasures of the sentence. A series of essays prompted by a single sentence—from Shakespeare to Janet Malcolm, John Ruskin to Joan Didion—the book explores style, voice, and language, along with the subjectivity of reading. Both an exercise in practical criticism and a set of experiments or challenges, Suppose a Sentence is a polemical and personal reflection on the art of the sentence in literature. Whether the sentence in question is a rigorous expression of a state of vulnerability, extremity, even madness, or a carefully calibrated arrangement, Dillon examines not only how it works and why but also, in the course of the book, what the sentence once was, what it is today, and what it might become tomorrow.

Praise

Dillon is a mournful, witty and original writer.
—Parul Sehgal, The New York Times

One of our most innovative and elegant nonfictioneers.
Robert Macfarlane, author of The Old Ways