The NYRB Holiday Sale is on! Spend $75 or more to receive a free tote bag! (Offer not available for any Book Club orders.)

The price of $169.95 is good for only US orders and orders must be received by December 9 to receive US delivery of the first set by December 24. For international orders, postage will be determined during checkout.

The Comics and Classics Book Club

$169.95 $246.45

For the first time, we are offering an economical way to buy both NYR Comics and Classics: six Comics and six Classics for $169.95 (a retail value of $246.45) plus free postage for US orders.

Here’s how it works: every two months, members of the club will receive two books—a Comic and a Classic—sent to you postage free. The Classics have been selected by NYRB editors to match the mood of the Comics.

Comics have been one of the liveliest art forms for over a century, but many of its greatest works are no longer available, or were never translated. In the tradition of NYRB Classics, New York Review Comics will present new editions of out-of-print masterpieces and new translations of books that have never before appeared in English.

The first selection will be Soft City by Hariton Pushwagner, introduced by Chris Ware, paired with the classic The Queue by Vladimir Sorokin.

Tom Batten in the Library Journal had this to say about Soft City: “The images are simple, but there’s something seething behind them, perhaps the passion of an artist possessed of true vision…fans of indie books and art lovers will embrace this as a masterpiece.” 

The Queue has been called “a landmark of international postmodern fiction”—Keith Gessen. 

Below are the selections that readers will receive throughout the year:
Almost Completely Baxter by Glen Baxter with The Unrest-Cure and Other Stories by Saki
Agony by Mark Beyer with A Meaningful Life by L. J. Davis
What Am I Doing Here by Abner Dean with Store of the Worlds by Robert Sheckley
Peplum by Blutch with The Long Ships by Frans G. Bengtsson
Pretending Is Lying by Dominique Goblet with Cassandra at the Wedding by Dorothy Baker

The price of $169.95 is good for only US orders and orders must be received by December 9 to receive US delivery of the first set by December 24. For international orders, postage will be determined during checkout. 

Praise

“Last March, New York Review Books began—hooray—publishing comics.”—The Guardian

“Booklovers of all stripes recognize the NYRB Classics line as one of the best imprints going…. Its entry into comics publishing is cause for celebration.”—The A.V. Club